MORI Digital Art Museum

The “borderless” digital art museum in Tokyo is fantastic!

I had seen pictures, but didn’t know what to expect, and like many other places I’ve been- the pictures serve as a nice part of the memory of the experience, but you can’t really get a sense of this place unless you have been here.

Why?

The colors will be different in person.

But primarily because the art is always moving. And even if you watch some videos, I still don’t think that truly captures how the art can change based on how people move, and how the art is never the same from person to person or from room to room.

You could line up 20 people who are all taking pictures in the same place, and compare them, and none of the pictures will be identical. Isn’t that amazing!

If you get the opportunity to see this:

take your time going through the building

go back – at least to the major rooms – more than once

watch how other people interact with the art

take pictures, but be sure to just stand there and be in the moment

keep poking around- some rooms are hard to find

get the app – but again don’t spend all your time looking at your phone/camera

Enjoy my photographic representation of my time at this unique museum!

Another tip – you might want to wear a plain light-colored shirt.

A whale swimming along the floor.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in art, Japan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment