Phuket – Pearl of Andaman Sea

I haven’t done many beach vacations, and my week on Phuket was one of my favorites.

We stayed at a lovely resort that had its own beach. But I spent most of my time in the infinity pool. I like a pool that had a swim-up bar! The resort was the Westin Siray Bay, and I highly recommend it.

We spent a day at Petang Beach. It was very cheap to rent chairs and an umbrella. They brought drinks – water, Diet Coke, Fanta, Mai Tais – in buckets full of ice. And DH got a foot massage. We watched people jet skiing and parasailing, and got a bit sunburned. My pale Minnesota skin was no match for Thailand’s sun.

Bond. James Bond. We went to the island that is featured in the beginning of The Man with the Golden Gun. Such a lovely place. I am still amazed at how many beautiful places there are on this planet of ours.

(I tried to watch the movie, and no disrespect to Sir Roger Moore, but I am a Sean Connery girl.)

Rock pictures from the boat.

I tried sea kayaking. I love kayaking on my little part of Lake Huron, so being able to kayak on the Andaman sea was yet another bucket list item achieved.

I know I am repeating myself, but I feel so blessed to be traveling to places I put on a bucket list but didn’t actually believe I would see. And I probably would not have traveled from Minnesota to Thailand.

I have struggled adjusting to expat life in China, but it is because of this opportunity that allows me to see places on this side of the world.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in mountains, relaxation, the book, travel bucket list, water and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment