52 Places to Go in 2017

This is a list put together and published by the New York Times.

I like lists like this because inevitably I learn about places I’ve never heard of before, and it gives me more to dream about for my bucket list. Plus, perhaps I will use this list to re-prioritize my travel plans for the next few years.

Here is the list. My notes on some of the locations are below.

  1. Canada
  2. Atacama Desert, Chile
  3. Agra, India
  4. Zermatt, Switzerland
  5. Botswana
  6. Dubrovnik, Croatia
  7. Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming
  8. Tijuana, Mexico
  9. Detroit, Michigan
  10. Hamburg, Germany
  11. Marrakesh, Morocco
  12. Greenville, South Carolina
  13. Pedregal, Ecuador
  14. Penzance, England
  15. Osaka, Japan
  16. Stockholm, Sweden
  17. Sikkim, India
  18. Ile de Porquerollels, France
  19. Madagascar
  20. Sanya, China
  21. Cyprus
  22. Great Barrier Reef, Australia
  23. Minneapolis, Minnesota
  24. Kingston, Jamaica
  25. Comporta, Portugal
  26. Kazakhstan
  27. Gabon
  28. Athens, Greece
  29. Northwest Puerto Rico
  30. Chiang Mai, Thailand
  31. Napa Valley, California
  32. Puerto Escondido, Mexico
  33. Sedona, Arizona
  34. Madrid
  35. Ketchum, Idaho
  36. Maldives
  37. Calabria, Italy
  38. Antequera, Spain
  39. Lofoten Island, Norway
  40. Ibera Wetlands, Argentina
  41. Istria, Croatia
  42. Placencia, Belize
  43. Langtang Region, Nepal
  44. Bozcaada, Turkey
  45. Birmingham, Alabama
  46. Sacred Valley, Peru
  47. Laikipia, Kenya
  48. Busan, South Korea
  49. Portland, Oregon
  50. Budapest, Hungary
  51. South Bronx, New York
  52. Ryukyu Islands, Japan

There were several places on this year’s list that I’ve never heard of before. I can always brush up on my geography!

Canada: I recommend visiting Canada, and I will be spending time in Canada in 2017. We own property in Ontario on Lake Huron and plan to spend lots of time there during the summer months. I want to see other parts of Canada as well; such as Vancouver, but that probably won’t happen in 2017.

Croatia: I am confident I will get there; and maybe as soon as 2018. I want my next cruise to be on the Mediterranean; and will pick an itinerary that includes Venice, Italy and Croatia.

Tijuana, Mexico: I was there when I was ten years old. I would like to return and see how much I can remember; but I think it is probably very different now than it was in the 1970’s. It was the first place I visited where I had to pay to use a public toilet. If I remember correctly, I just crawled under the door since I was a wee child.

Hamburg, Germany: I was there in 2014 for one day during a Baltic Cruise. I probably won’t go back, but am glad I was there. Great pretzels!

Marrakesh: Yes! Going to Morocco has been on my list for several years. I have to believe I will get there. Eventually.

Penzance: I used to visit England for work, and every time I scheduled a trip I tried to see if I could squeeze in some time in Penzance. It never worked out because it is just too far away from London to make a good day trip. I still hope I get the chance to visit Penzance.

Stockholm: I highly recommend this unique city. I love water, and Stockholm has lots of it! It remains at the top of my list of places I need to visit again. I was only there for one day. I need more time in Sweden.

Great Barrier Reef: This is just about the top of my bucket list. I am a certified scuba diver and really want to see this amazing part of our ocean before it is further destroyed.

Minneapolis: Well, isn’t this interesting? This is my home town and I very much approve of it being on the list. We have a beautiful city with great arts, outdoor activities and culture; but I don’t think enough people visit here because we seem to have a reputation for having 9 or 10 months of winter every year. That is a bit of an exaggeration. Come here! Even if it is just to see where Prince lived and died.

Napa Valley: I am scheduled to be in Napa Valley for work in April. I’ve been before, and am really looking forward to going back. I have a wine cellar in my house and would like to fill it up.

Madrid: I loved Madrid and hope I can visit there again. I would like to go during the winter months. Their summers are a bit too warm for me. Tapas!

It is a good list and gives me something to think about as I try and plan my travel for the next few years. 2017 is pretty much all planned out and I don’t think I will be adding anything new. If I did manage to squeeze in something later this year…it would be Japan or Australia. G’day mate!

 

 

 

 

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in travel bucket list and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 52 Places to Go in 2017

  1. Evangelina says:

    Cool list. Been to 27 of those. I hope to visit at least some of the other ones too.

  2. Sartenada says:

    Great list. Sometimes small towns offer surprises, which cannot be found in big cities. In Finland, for example the town Oulu offers happening, which is unique in the whole world.

    Happy and safe travels.

Leave a Reply

