Daily Post: Craving

My initial idea for this topic was to write about how I am craving a Laduree macaron. I have Paris on my mind!

Famous Laduree

Famous Laduree

However, I decided to go in a different direction. (In part to try and squash my sweet craving.)

2016 is missing something for me. It will be the first year in many when I am not cruising; so, I am craving some ocean time.

I love the ocean. I have always loved water. I only started cruising 10 years ago, but immediately fell in love. I then went on the following cruise streak:

2011 – Mediterranean aboard Holland America’s Noordam

HAL Noordam

HAL Noordam

This was my second cruise. Ever. The first was also Mediterranean, and I so fell in love with the region that I needed to return. I visited some of the same places as before, but also many new ones; including my first time in Africa.

Michaelangelo's David (replica)

Michaelangelo’s David (replica) in Florence

cropped-picture-167.jpg

Monte Carlo

Cove where we swam

Mallorca  cove

2012 – Caribbean aboard Norwegian’s Spirit

This was my first cruise with my parents. They took the whole family to celebrate their 50th anniversary. I didn’t love the Caribbean, but it was an awesome vacation.

NCL Spirit

NCL Spirit

Andy and his fish

Andy and his fish

Towel mouse

Towel mouse

Family swim time

Family swim time

2013 – Baltic aboard Holland America’s Eurodam

I love Europe, and decided to expand my horizons with this cruise and see the northern countries. And even though my parents did a nearly identical trip the previous year, they joined us on this cruise.

eurodam

Private cabana on Eurodam

Private cabana on Eurodam

Swedish Archipelago

Swedish Archipelago

Old Tallinn

Old Tallinn

Hermitage, St. Petersburg, Russia

St. Petersburg, Russia

2014 – Alaska aboard the Grand Princess

My 50th state! This was a cruise with my parents, brother and SIL, and paternal aunt. Alaska is beautiful. We were blessed with wonderful weather – best all summer, according to the crew.

And while this was one of my favorite vacations, it was also the time when my mother began having physical challenges that led to her terminal cancer diagnosis. I am so, so happy that I had this experience with my parents. I am blessed!

grand princess

Whale watching

Whale watching

Alaskan waterfall

Alaskan waterfall

Mendenhall Glacier and lake

Mendenhall Glacier and lake

2015 – European river cruise on Viking

This was my mom’s bucket list trip, and her last vacation. Again, I was incredibly blessed to  have this experience with her. But I also have mixed feelings because she never really recovered her strength after getting home. However, it was important to her that she live what life she had left to the fullest, and she accomplished that!

We started in Budapest and ended in Amsterdam. I added 3 new countries to my list on this trip.

Credit: Viking River Cruise website

Budapest, photo credit: Viking River Cruise website

The sun was perfect to "light" up these buildings on the shore

Wachau Valley, The sun was perfect to “light” up these buildings on the shore

View of the Abbey from the road below. The two towers are the chapel part of the building.

View of the Abbey from the road below. The two towers are the chapel part of the building.

IMG_5212

 

No worries, my cruise craving will be satisfied in January 2017 aboard Norwegian’s Pride of America.  I will be sailing around the Hawaiian islands with my dad, DH, both brothers and their wives; and of course my mom will be with us in spirit.

Hopefully 2016 will be the last year I endure an entire year without cruising.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in cruise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

