Daily Post: Muse

It is highly unlikely that had I lived in the 1880s-1890s, and knew him, that I would have ever been a muse for Oscar Wilde. Why is another blog post, or just check his wikipedia page if you want to learn more about this brilliant playwright.

However, he is now a sort of muse for me. And this is how it happened…..

I’ve been to Paris many times, and I plan to visit many more times. I’ve been to the Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Seine river cruise, Notre Dame, Arc de Triomphe….

I was in Paris and wanted to have a more unconventional visit than my past trips. I read once that Pete Lachaise Cemetery was a tourist attraction. I initially dismissed the idea of visiting a Paris cemetery as a little creepy; but then I started to read up on who was buried there.  Some include:

  • Oscar Wilde
    Sarah Bernhardt
    Gertrude Stein
    Marcel Marceau
    Jim Morrison

And there are many more…

Oscar Wilde wrote my favorite play – The Importance of Being Earnest. But I didn’t know very much about him, so I started doing a little research and decided that I would visit him. But I wanted to make it as fun as I could while in a cemetery, so tried to make an event out of it. “Breakfast with Oscar

I bought a bottle of wine, stopped at my local patisserie to get some pastries, and hopped on the metro headed for Pere Lachaise. The cemetery does provide maps, but I recommend doing your research before going to make sure you really know how to find the graves you want to see. Oscar’s is very easy to find, especially if you enter via the Gambetta entrance.

Paris 244

Oscar Wilde’s grave in Paris – Breakfast with Oscar

Paris 242

Kisses for Oscar

As my newly appointed muse, I think Oscar would have embraced having wine and pastries with him for breakfast.

However, other visitors to his grave did not approve. I tried to be respectful, but again I didn’t want it to be a somber occasion.

 

I was in Dublin two years ago, but forgot to have breakfast with Oscar on that trip. I did, however, try to have breakfast with him in London, but the area around him was taped off for construction.

I made Oscar my blog muse to try and find a new angle for how I would approach travel. And, it was because of him that I decided to see a famous Paris site that I had not previously considered.

I also visited Jim Morrison’s grave. It was more difficult to find, but all you really need is a general idea of where it is and then just listen for the party and follow the noise. (I left the rest of my wine for Jim.) I would have never been his muse either.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in culture, France and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

