Daily Post – Apology

I am not going to apologize for my love of travel. I am not going to allow others to shame me for my passion.

I am so tired of  hearing….”don’t you ever work?” ….”why do you <want to> travel so much?”

EiffelTower

Paris – one of my favorite cities

I attended a family reunion yesterday, and as it often does with me, the topic of travel came up.

I don’t give you a hard time about your love of baseball/softball (whatever…). I support your passions, especially when that passion takes you somewhere besides your own backyard. (Pokemon Go)

Perhaps I am a little too single-minded in my passion, but I believe I am a better, more well-rounded person because of my experiences – and travel is part of that. I have other hobbies, but they don’t make my eyes sparkle when I talk about them.

Another question I dislike….how can you afford to travel? I won’t give you money-saving travel tips in this post as there are already millions of posts with that good information, but for me it is about prioritizing. And that includes: quantity over quality. My brother typically takes 1 trip per year, and always to the same place (Vegas); but I will try not to judge him. So, on his annual trip he buys first class seats, and stays in a great hotel.

I am content to fly coach. I also like driving, and take trains when it makes sense to do so. I would love to stay at the Ritz sometime, but I don’t need that.

I will admit to having a few designer handbags, but I know women who buy a new purse at least once per month. I buy a new one every 2-3 years because my priority may be different from yours. I have a friend who only wears Jimmy Choo, Christian Louboutins and other designer shoes. Again, I prioritize travel (experiences) over “stuff.”

I will do my best to not judge you for your passions and how you spend your time/money; and I would like the same in return. Please accept my apology if I ever shamed your passion.

IMG_4629

 

 

 

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in travel bucket list and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

