Wertheim Germany

I was in Wertheim on Tuesday 6th October 2015, as part of a Viking River Cruise.

Wertheim couldn’t be any more adorable if it tried. If you love half-timbered buildings, like I do, then you should enjoy this little town.

Our “parking spot” was perfect. After leaving our ship it was about 2 blocks to the center of Wetheim, where we walked along a pedestrian-only street filled with shops and bakeries.

Our guide was wonderful and I enjoyed hearing about the impact WWII had on Wertheim, but I am afraid I just don’t trust my memory enough to try and repeat any of it.

It was towns like this that made me happy to have taken a trip like a river cruise. I can’t imagine getting to visit it any other way.

IMG_5198

According to our guide, the odd little window was added to the house below in order to make it easier for its inhabitant to monitor what was going on in town. There are lots of houses still today that have oddly-placed windows.

IMG_5199

IMG_5200

IMG_5201

1577 – an old town

IMG_5202

IMG_5203

Another German town with a flood marker

 

IMG_5205

I think that was an Abbey on the hill, and the Nazis built a bomb shelter underneath of it – that is a car park now.

IMG_5208

DH loves taking panoramic pictures. This is one of my favorites.

IMG_5212

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in Germany, Viking River Cruise and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

