Current Bucket List

Just as any good financial planner would recommend you review and update your investments periodically, I think it is important to review and update my travel bucket list.

I did this as I begin thinking about taking a “big” trip next year for a milestone birthday. I am going to get older – there is no changing that – so I might as well do it in style!

Here is the current version of my bucket list. It is subject to change.

These are the places I’ve never visited:

Four Seasons

  1. Bora Bora – an over-the-water villa, of course
  2. Australia – must include a diving trip to the Great Barrier Reef
  3. Australia/New Zealand cruise
  4. Thailand – Bangkok and Phuket
  5. Petra, Jordan
  6. Istanbul, Turkey
  7. Israel – Dead Sea and Jerusalem
  8. India
  9. Bali
  10. Dubai
  11. Asian cruise – such as Hong Kong to Singapore via Cunard
  12. Any cruise on Cunard
  13. African safari – the kind where I shoot pictures, not animals
  14. South American cruise – must include Galapagos
  15. Italy – must include where I haven’t been yet: Venice, Milan and Lake Como
  16. Morocco
  17. Pyramids in Egypt
  18. Cuba
  19. Rio de Janeiro – for Carnival
  20. Greek Islands cruise

These are the places I have visited, but would like to return to:

Stockholm

Stockholm

  1. South of France
  2. Japan
  3. Roatan, Honduras
  4. Hawaii – must include the Big Island so I can see the active volcano
  5. Sweden and Norway (maybe Finland too) – since Ancestry.com says I am 80% Scandinavian I need to see more of where my great-grandparents came from
Hiroshima memorial

Hiroshima memorial

There are 195 or 196 countries, depending on who you ask. (Taiwan is the question mark.) I’ve only been to about 15% of them.

Time to see more of our beautiful planet!

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in travel bucket list and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Current Bucket List

  1. There are some places that I would love to visit on your list. I recently went to Italy for 3 weeks and totally in love with the country!

  2. ukalady says:

    You *must* see the volcano on the Island of Hawaii! And right now it’s so very active. One of my favorite night-time adventures was exploring the Thurston Lava Tube and then watching the red smokey glow from atop the crater (the park is open 24 hours but most folks only visit during the daytime).

    Here’s what I wrote about that visit (and why I want *you* to go see it now!):
    —-
    We arrived at the front gate at about 4 pm, first touring the Visitor Center (well, first we really zipped on the “legs” of our convertible shorts and put on our jackets–it was cool and misty outside). We watched the video, explored around and bought some history books in the gift shop before heading off to see the caldera first from the overlook near the steam vents. Then a drive on to Jaggar Museum (which closed an hour later than the Visitor Center) and the daylight views of the crater with its awesome plume. Then back to the lodge, where we perused all the historical photos in the lobby and hallways (we love history) and sat and warmed by the ever-burning fireplace.

    By the time we left the lodge and went to the Kilauea Iki Crater overlook there was very little light. We strapped on our headlamps and walked down the path to the Thurston Lava Tube in the dark. Neat! No one else was anywhere nearby.It was quiet inside, except for the dripping of the water overhead from the dangling roots. We explored the tube for quite a while and emerged back into the “jungle” walk to head back to the parking lot.

    In the dark, we drove back to Jaggar Museum and the overlook. This was a highlight of the day–the crater glowed an intense red from the lava down below its surface 200 feet or so. The smoke (?) spun and whirled from the crater, giving the appearance of figures dancing in the light at the crater. Only 8 to 10 folks were at the overlook the whole time we were there and all were quiet and reverent, watching the writhing glow. It was like being in an ancient and awesome cathedral.

Leave a Reply

