Lucky 7

For my 7th cruise I will be doing something brand new – a European river cruise! This will be my next big trip, and sadly will probably be my last trip with my parents.

My mom has stage 4 breast cancer, and she wants to take one more trip to Europe. She selected Viking Cruises’ Grand European itinerary on the long-ship Alsvin.

We start in Budapest and end in Amsterdam. Viking offers the same itinerary in both directions. I wanted to start in the place I’ve never been before – Budapest – and end in the city I have visited before – Amsterdam.

One thing I’ve learned about myself, especially after a long cruise….when it is over, I really want to go home…as soon as the ship docks.  We end in Amsterdam, which is also the city I will need to fly out of to return to the U.S. …based on the airline I need to use. I haven’t booked it yet as I am still trying to decide how many extra days I can squeeze in before the ship sails. I know my parents are planning to either arrive early or stay on after the cruise, possibly for a couple of weeks. They are retired, and I am not.

This cruise is 15 days and visits 5 countries and 15 cities.

Viking_GrandEuropean

3 countries will be new to me: Hungary, Slovakia and Austria. I’ve been to both Germany and The Netherlands.

I compared the map with 1,000 Places to See Before you Die book/list and found that I could add these 11 to my list of places in the book that I’ve been to:

The Wachau Valley, Austria
Vienna, Austria
Budapest’s Traditional Thermal Baths, Hungary
Castle Hill, Budapest, Hungary
The Danube Bend, Budapest
Gundel and Gerbeaud, Budapest, Hungary
Bratislava’s Old Town, Slovakia
Bamberg, Germany
Regensburg, Germany
Cologne’s Cathedral, Germany
The Rhine Valley, Germany

I am always up for going to new places, so I am very excited. This should be a great trip!

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in cruise, family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lucky 7

  1. cruise2 says:

    I am sorry to hear about your mum. The trip you’re planning is a wonderful one, I’ve done a few times. Ęach of you will be able to pace yourself. It’s a great choice.

Leave a Reply

