Review: Foundation Louis Vuitton

Go for the building, not for the art.

Foundation Louis Vuitton is the latest architectural creation of Frank Gehry.  



He also designed the Guggenheim Museum in Bilboa, Spain and the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles. I’ve been to both.

Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles

Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles

Disclaimer: I do not like contemporary art.  I didn’t go for the art, therefore I wasn’t disappointed.

I spent more time looking at the building than its contents.  



The outside of the building looks like a sea-faring vessel. Wikipedia describes it as a sailboat, but it seems larger than that. Much larger.

I loved the outside water fall. 

 Now, let’s talk about the “art.” Yes, I put art in quotes because I do not consider a park bench with two hats to be an artistic creation. 



 Art is obviously subjective, but if I could create it myself then I have a difficult time classifying something as art. I am not an artist, yet I could color a large piece of canvas a pretty color. 



A large blob of garbage and plant material. This is art?



Close up:



This is not art. This is disturbing.



Monet was an artist.

One panel of one room of the Orangerie

One panel of one room of the Orangerie

DaVinci was an artist.

Madonna with a flower

Madonna with a flower by DaVinci

This also doesn’t meet my definition of art. 



 But, do visit Foundation Louis Vuitton. Building and water feature are brilliant.





About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in art, France and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

