2014 Travel Recap

One year ago, I created a list of places I wanted to visit in 2014. It was a brave, but short list – Bora Bora, Hawaii, and Rome.

I went to none of those places. But 2014 was a great travel year.

2014 travel map

2014 travel map

2014 started with a bang! I went to Singapore in late January…for the weekend. I highly recommend Singapore, but I don’t recommend flying that far for a weekend getaway.  Best part of the weekend was the night safari.

Marina Bay Sands infinity pool

Marina Bay Sands infinity pool

Marina Bay Sands at night

Marina Bay Sands at night

March 2014 brought me back to the Honduran island of Roatan. I discovered the island during my one (and perhaps only) Caribbean cruise; and returned in 2014 to spend a full week, versus the 6-7 hours you get during a cruise stop. It was an awesome family vacation. I went scuba diving, had my first zip line tour, and relaxed. I would rather return to Roatan than visit Hawaii again, but it is more difficult to get to Roatan from where I live….so we’ll see.

April 2014 brought me to Key West, and the southern-most point of the US to greet some amazing friends as they finished a bike ride from Baltimore, MD. It was a powerful weekend with some great folks who had a fabulous time raising money for Ulman.

July 2014 was a return trip to London, which included seeing Monty Python “mostly live” for what they believe was their final live performance together. I also spent a week in Ireland. Another great trip!

Waterford Crystal Factory in Waterford, Ireland

Waterford Crystal Factory in Waterford, Ireland

August 2014 was my unplanned (last-minute) cruise to Alaska with my parents. This trip allowed me to complete a bucket list – visiting all 50 United States.  Alaska is beautiful and I think I need to see more of it. Everyone should experience the beauty of Alaska.

Whale watching

Whale watching

Mendenhall Glacier

Mendenhall Glacier

I also made an impromptu drive to Bruce Mines, Canada where my MIL has a home she is selling. It is a cozy 2-bedroom house on Lake Huron. Very peaceful and relaxing! We would like to purchase it, which means it will likely become a major part of future vacation time spent. No resolution on this as of December 31, 2014.

And then October 2014 brought very sad news for my family. My mother’s breast cancer has spread to her spine and lungs. 2015 travel will focus on completing as much of her bucket list as we can, depending on how she feels while taking chemo.

I had one trip booked prior to getting the diagnosis, so I will be returning to London and Paris in February. I am not making a 2015 travel wish list. I will try and fulfill my mom’s wishes instead.  One of her travel wishes is a European river cruise, so hopefully we can take that trip later in 2015.

Happy New Year!! I wish wonderful travel for all.

Largest Waterford Champagne class - cheers!!

Largest Waterford Champagne class – cheers!!

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in 50 states, cruise, Ireland, London, SCUBA, Singapore and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

