St. Peter’s Basilica

St. Peter’s Basilica is a Late Renaissance church located within Vatican City. Designed principally by Donato Bramante, Michelangelo, Carlo Maderno and Gian Lorenzo Bernini. (source: Wikipedia)

St Peter’s is a very important church in the Catholic Church, and an amazing building. I am not catholic, but would never have missed the chance to visit it during both of my trips to Rome. I even walked to the top during my last visit. The view of Vatican City and Rome proper is worth walking up all of those stairs.

I hope to return someday because I really want to do the catacombs tour.

This is what the church looks like early on a Sunday morning. It was quiet on this particular day as the pope was not in town.

St. Peter's Basilica

St. Peter’s Basilica

St. Peter's Basilica

St. Peter’s Basilica

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in cathedrals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

