Summer Vacations 2014

School is now back in session, and when I was a schoolgirl we sometimes had to write a short story about our summer break. My summer vacations during childhood were limited to camping trips in various places around Minnesota, and I loved those trips. My dad was in the building trades and worked the hardest in the summer when the weather was better for that type of work than our winters. Our best vacations were taken over Christmas break.

As an adult, I can now do anything I want for summer vacation – and I had a couple of good ones this year.

My first Summer Vacation was to England and Ireland. It really started in Frankfurt, Germany as that is where I changed planes. I enjoyed nearly one week in London, then visited Liverpool before taking a ferry to Dublin, Ireland. After Dublin I then stayed in the Cork area for the rest of the vacation.

Professors Trelawney and  McGonagall at Harry Potter studios outside of London

Professors Trelawney and McGonagall at Harry Potter studios outside of London

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Waterford Crystal Factory in Waterford, Ireland

Waterford Crystal Factory in Waterford, Ireland

Rose in Powerscourt garden, south of Dublin

Rose in Powerscourt garden, south of Dublin

Jill kissing the Blarney stone

Jill kissing the Blarney stone

Ring of Kerry scenery

Ring of Kerry scenery

Kangaroo at Fota Wildlife Park, Cork

Kangaroo at Fota Wildlife Park, Cork

My second Summer Vacation was an Alaskan cruise that began and ended in Seattle, Washington. It was a dream come true as that trip also completed a bucket list – visiting all 50 states!

 

Grand Princess Inside Passage

Grand Princess Inside Passage

Alaskan waterfall

Alaskan waterfall

Mendenhall Glacier

Mendenhall Glacier

Whale watching

Whale watching

I might take it easier next summer and only go to Canada. In fact, I am headed up there today to look at a house on Lake Huron that I might purchase for future summer vacations. 

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in 50 states, London. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Vacations 2014

  1. Sharon says:

    Love the summer house idea – but what about Yellowstone?

Leave a Reply

