Our 49th State

While it isn’t unusual for me to be getting excited about an upcoming trip, I am a little surprised at the level of my excitement. I’ve been wanting to go to Alaska in the sense that it allows me to complete a bucket list – visiting all 50 United States; but I never gave much thought to really “seeing” Alaska.

However, as I continue my research I am afraid I will run out of words to describe its beauty. I guess I always thought I would get to Alaska via the air and spend a quick few days there and that would be it.

I am relatively new to cruising, and knew that lots of people were visiting Alaska each year via cruise ship; but never really believed that is how I would see The Last Frontier. But I am starting to believe that a cruise is the best/easier way to experience, at least parts of, Alaska. I am not doing a land package, so won’t be seeing Denali or other fabulous places but I still think what I am going to see will take my breath away.

Grand Princess Alaska 2014
My first stop will be Ketchikan. That is where I can close my “visit all states” bucket list. I started looking at pictures other people have posted online, but decided to stop because i really want to be surprised and experience it all with fresh eyes. Plus, I think pictures are a great way to remember something you’ve already done; but difficult to completely put yourself in a scene if you didn’t take the photo and/or experience it yourself.

I won’t list all of my expectations of this trip here, but can I ask for a refund if I don’t see a whale? Just kidding! I am NOT one of those people. I will feel blessed by what I see and experience. I try hard to keep my expectations in check, and live my life without regret.

Bon voyage!

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in 50 states, cruise. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our 49th State

  1. Sharon says:

    I think your first stop on this trip was actually Seattle. Just saying….

Leave a Reply

