Dublin 2014

I am one week into my holiday\vacation and have only completed one blog post. Shame on me. I could blame it on the fact that I didn’t bring my laptop and don’t enjoy pecking on my iPad but mostly it is because I am too tired at the end of each day to accomplish anything except brushing my teeth.

It is morning here in Ireland and my family is still sleeping. We are leaving Dublin after only one day because I really want to see more of the Emerald Isle.

We arrived late to Dublin two nights ago via ferry from a city south of Liverpool, England. The ferry ride was at night so not much to see, and we ended up in a lounge with at least a dozen small children. They were fairly quiet when Frozen started but it didn’t last the whole journey.

It was a rainy day in Dublin. I purchased a lovely umbrella at Trinity College while my family saw the Book of Kells. I had seen in on my previous trip.

We then went to Guinness Storehouse for their tour. I’ve done this before too, but this time I went to the tasting room. That is where you learn about the 4 flavors that go into a Guinness and also how to drink it properly. It made a difference! I still couldn’t finish a whole pint, but I got much closer this time.

My favorite part of the Storehouse is the gravity bar where you collect your pint of Guinness. The views of Dublin are fantastic. Pics coming…..

We then headed to the Temple Bar area, but our timing wasn’t great. The France v Germany soccer\football match had just begun and we couldn’t find any seats in any of the pubs.

We ended the day at a great steakhouse called FXB, which was recommended by the taxi driver and highly rated on yelp. Excellent steaks!

Our time in Dublin is coming to an end. Our next stop is County Waterford.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in Ireland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

