Stonehenge tour

Or as I like to call it……rocks in a field.

20140701-084624-31584822.jpg
I made a brief stop here several years ago while in England on a business trip and do have a photo of me with the stones in the background, but from quite a distance. Mostly I remember lots of fencing and it appeared as though you could not get very close to the stones.

Since then they have moved the visitor centre about 2 kilometers away, which probably helps with the traffic. Your ticket includes a ride on a tram-like vehicle or you can walk down. I would have walked but no one else in my family wanted to so we rode. Please, can I ride in a car without a screaming child? A child that, by the way, will never remember being here. I will save that rant for another post.

Let me back up…..we opted to not go on a tour bus\coach from London, so we took the train from Waterloo station; which happens to be near our flat\condo. The nearest train station to Stonehenge is Salisbury and the bus to the Stonehenge visitor centre was there when we arrived. We picked up our audio guide at the visitor centre – I recommend the audio guide – and got on the next tram.

What is Stonehenge and why are these rocks set in this field? There are many theories – was it a calendar? I think it is a cemetery.

The other big question – how did they get the rocks set up like we see them today? Super-human strength? Probably not. DH thinks they built up mounds of earth and then dug the dirt away after placing the stones. I don’t have an opinion. It kind of gives me a headache to think about such feats.

I enjoyed this visit more than I expected I would. I didn’t even want to go. I got much more out of it with the audio guide than if I simply wandered it by myself.

We couldn’t go in the inner ring, but while we were there a group was allowed in for some ceremony. I am not sure who they were – but it was men and woman, and young and old. Some had drums and they were doing chants, I think.

Bonus…..I got to see the cute sheep in the field next to Stonehenge. Baaaaaa

20140701-085828-32308073.jpg

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

