Monty Python, London, Ireland

I just did a post about a trip I will be taking in August, but I have another trip scheduled before then that I haven’t blogged about yet. Shame on me!

I am going back to London! No, I really can’t get enough. I was in London last year for the Minnesota Vikings football game. I was really there to visit friends, but it felt good to have another reason too.

London Eye

This time, we are going to see Monty Python. As a side note, this is important because these particular comic geniuses have not performed live together since 1980. Yes, 1980! I have seen Eric Idle twice in Minneapolis though.

My original plan for the 2014 summer family holiday/vacation was two glorious weeks in Italy. I had it all planned out…..start in Rome, see Venice, Milan, Lake Como and finally end in Florence.

And then, I heard the announcement about the Monty Python reunion show in London. I knew this would be an opportunity that shouldn’t be missed.  I awoke at 3 a.m. on the day the tickets went on sale. I had already registered on the site; but, I didn’t notify my credit card company that I would be attempting a purchase in the middle of the night on a U.K. website. I didn’t get the first set of tickets I had – which were for the first show that sold out in 43 seconds – because of credit card problems. 4 cards later, I got tickets for the second show.

But what about Italy? Should we fly to London to see Monty Python, and then go to Italy? I already had too much crammed into the Italy schedule so we switched gears and decided to stay local.

An important note about this trip…..we are bringing DD’s boyfriend. This will be his first trip abroad. We even paid for his passport! Anyway, I think taking him to an English-speaking country on his first trip abroad is a good idea. And, have I mentioned how much I love London?! I hope he likes London.

I have rented a 2-bedroom flat south of the Thames near London Bridge, and pre-ordered oyster cards for the tube. We will have 5 days in London, but will likely burn one of those doing a day trip to Stonehenge and Bath.

We will see Monty Python on Wednesday, July 2nd, and then leave the next morning for Liverpool. I’ve been, but DH hasn’t and he really wants to see the Cavern Club.

We will then take the ferry from Holyhead to Dublin. I’ve scheduled one very full day in Dublin and will then rent a car to see as much of Ireland as possible in the remaining 4 1/2 days.

Now….this is the part that scares me. As much time as I’ve spent in the U.K., I have never driven there. They drive on the other side of the road! And my skills with a manual transmission are not great. But I will figure it out!

And….this is where my planning stops. I have a general idea of where I want to go: Waterford, Cork, Ring of Kerry and Blarney (castle and stone).

Blarney Stone, courtesy of wikipedia

Blarney Stone, courtesy of wikipedia

I am scheduled to arrive in London in four weeks, so I still  have time to do more planning.

Part of me wants to just go with the flow and NOT plan the rest of the trip; but having 5 of us traveling during the summer makes me nervous about making sure I find appropriate sleeping accommodations for my family.

I look forward to the rest of the planning, and to the blogging that I will be able to do during my travels.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in car, castle, London and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monty Python, London, Ireland

  1. Enjoy your stay!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

