An Exclusive Travel Club

I have been working for years towards becoming part of an exclusive travel “club.” No, not the mile-high club. And, it might not even be very exclusive; but it has taken me several years to reach the entrance. And I don’t know many people who are members.

I am referring to the 50 Staters Club. I am about to become a member, along with everyone else who has visited all 50 United States of America.

I sat at 48 for a couple of years. I think I was at 35 or 36 when I made the list, and challenged myself to get to all 50 states.

I was very fortunate to have a father who likes to drive, and had time off during the winter that allowed us to visit nearly 2/3 of the states when I was a child. We drove to Florida twice, California twice and visited Washington D.C. once.

I lived in the DC area for nearly 5 years and that allowed me to visit most of the east coast states. I then reached 48 after a variety of trips, some for work and some for pleasure. State #49 was Louisiana, and that was made possible by going on a Caribbean cruise that began and ended in New Orleans.

State #50 will be reached via a cruise vacation. I am scheduled to go on an Alaskan cruise in August.  I am so excited!!

What next? Maybe the U.S. territories? I haven’t been to any of them and I think there are 7.

What should my next travel goal or accomplishment be?

United States of America

United States of America

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in 50 states and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

