Singapore Day One

I arrived at my hotel at about 1:30 am on Friday, January 24th. I had napped on and off during my flights, but I knew my best chances of beating jet lag were to force myself to go to sleep – even though it was 11:30 am at home and I am not used to sleeping at that time.

Thank you Dramamine! I think I fell asleep after about 30 minutes of reading.

I woke at 8 am and showered. The shower felt amazing after the long trip over here!

I am staying at the Sheraton Towers. Their breakfast buffet has gotten mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, but I will try anything once. Plus, it was easy to just eat at the hotel since I didn’t know what else is nearby.

The breakfast  buffet had an amazing variety of food. I started with a fruit smoothie, which was delicious. I grabbed a hard roll hoping they would have cheese like I often see on European breakfast buffets. Sandwich meat, but no cheese. They had pastries, muffins and lots of other breads, but this carb-loving girl skipped those.

They had at least 6 different fresh fruits, one I didn’t recognize. I took the ones I did recognize – watermelon and cantaloupe.

I then got a broiled tomato – part of an English breakfast – and some hard-boiled eggs. I don’t love bacon and sausage, and they didn’t look great so I skipped those. I would have liked some scrambled eggs, but my only other egg option was an omelet.

They also had lots of Asian foods, some I have never seen before or heard of, and couldn’t pronounce. I had some curry sauce over rice though. It was very good. I also had some dim sum. I like the idea of dim sum, but it is like the box of chocolates – you never know what you are going to get <on the inside> – and the control freak in me isn’t always comfortable with that. I tried one. I have no idea what was on the inside, but it was tasty.

Next stop – the concierge’s desk for a map.  But she also pointed me in the direction of some shopping. I don’t know how far I walked, but it was probably one mile up Orchard Road. Lots of shopping! And lots of 7-11s. We don’t have 7-11 in Minnesota anymore, so I went there straight away for a Mountain Dew. Ick! It tasted nothing like the Dews I buy in the U.S.  I threw it away and bought water, which is what I should be drinking anyway since it is so hot here.

I also stopped at another convenience-type store for some sunscreen. I didn’t check a suitcase so I couldn’t bring any with me on the plane. I fear I will still burn since this is the closest to the equator that I have ever been before, and I tend to burn in warm weather places like Florida and Las Vegas.

I haven’t seen much of Singapore yet, but like it so far. Even though it is hot, there has been some nice breezes which are helping to keep me cool.

Next stop – pool! That should help me keep cool too. I am going to spend the afternoon reading and swimming, and perhaps have a short nap before DH returns from work. (I am in Singapore because DH is here for a business trip.)

I am not sure yet what we will do tonight. It might be an low-key evening as I expect I will feel some jet lag later and it has been a busy week for him.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

