Danish Design

“The timeless appeal of Danish design – which has long followed the philosophy of ‘form follows function’- has ensured its enduring success.” (1000 Places to See Before You Die)

Copenhagen’s Opera House (by Henning Larsen) is one of the buildings referenced as Danish Design. I didn’t seek out this particular experience from “the book,” but happened upon it as part of a canal cruise. It nearly took my breath away. It is an amazing building set right on a major waterway in Copenhagen.

I only saw it from the outside, and immediately thought of Frank Lloyd Wright because of the cantilever roof. I think it is an impressive building.

I don’t think I have identified what my “style” is, but I do like the clean lines of Danish design. I like lots of windows and the front of the Opera House is all glass.

20130625-205822.jpg

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in the book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

