Sea Days on a cruise

Today is a much needed sea day on my Baltic cruise. I haven’t had much time to blog about my adventures, but this is where I have been, so far:
Monday, 10 June 2013 – departed Copenhagen, Denmark
Tuesday, 11 June 2013 – first sea day
Wednesday, 12 June 2013 – Tallinn, Estonia
Thursday – Friday, 13-14 June 2013 – St. Petersburg, Russia
Saturday, 15 June 2013 – Helsinki, Finland
Sunday, 16 June 2013 – Stockholm, Sweden
Monday, 17 June 2013 – sea day

Upcoming:
Tuesday, 18 June 2013 – Warnemunde, Germany
Wednesday, 19 June 2013 – Kiel, Germany
Thursday, 20 June 2013 – back to Copenhagen

We are on Holland America’s (HAL) Eurodam ship. There are lots of cruise lines and lots of ships. And they all have a reputation. HAL is not known for having as many activities as other cruise ships, but according to today’s program there are over 50 activities.

We are exhausted from the past four days, especially the two full days in St Petersburg. I only have two things I want to do today – swim and relax in my cabana.

Two of HAL’s ships have private cabanas to rent for the day, or for the entire cruise. I rented for the entire cruise to ensure I would have it when I wanted. I have used the cabana part of every day, except the first Russia day.

Some people select cruises for the ship, or the ports, or the activities. This is my fourth cruise, and all were selected for the ports. I do like cruising but like other travel too. I am going to six new countries in ten day, and only unpacked once. I think that if I continue to cruise I need to balance ports with schedule – specifically the number of sea days for relaxation. I am having a great trip but am concerned I will be too tired when I get home on 21 June 2013.

I will be here most of the day, reading David Baldacci’s new book The Hit. Back to the relaxation part of this holiday.

20130617-110858.jpg

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

