St. Petersburg Russia

It has been way too long since I last blogged! I think we are t minus 6 weeks until we leave for the Baltic cruise, so I am really far behind on my research blogs.

One very exciting addition….. my parents are joining us on this trip!

I am really excited about every stop on this cruise – all places I have never been before – but I am most excited about St. Petersburg. I was a child when the Cold War ended, but I still remember talk about the big-bad U.S.S.R.  I never even entertained the idea of visiting Russia until a few years ago. I love how open most of our world has become. Hopefully it will continue in that direction. But, I admit that I can’t believe I will ever have the opportunity to visit North Korea, but perhaps the next generation will. I know my parents, having grown up through the Cold War, never considered visiting Russia. Never say never!

I finally booked our tour of St. Petersburg. We will be there for two days, and to avoid the process of getting a visa I have chosen a private tour company to handle the tour.

Hermitage photo courtesy of wikipedia

Hermitage photo courtesy of wikipedia

Day one
City sightseeing tour (I think this just means sitting in traffic and ooohing and aaahing at the architecture)
Subway ride
Hydrofoil ride to Peterhof
Peterhof Lower fountain park, upper gardens
Russian meal (Vodka??)
Tsars’ Village
Catherine’s palace
Peter and Paul’s fortress and cathedral

Day two
Canal boat ride
Hermitage Museum
Church of Our Saviour on the Spilled Blood
Yusupovs’ Palace
St. Isaac’s cathedral

Of the above, these are the ones in “the book”:
Catherine Palace
Peterhof
The Hermitage (and Winter Palace)

Also in the book – The White Nights Festival. I am still working on an evening option to take advantage of The White Nights Festival.

I think it will be two intense days, but I want to take in as much as I can because I don’t know if I will ever return.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in art, castle, cathedrals, cruise, the book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

