8 Countries

Yes, I will be in 8 countries during one trip – 6 of them are countries I have never visited before.

I love London. I love Paris. I love Tokyo. But I also love cruising. I am fairly new to cruising, and have only been on 3; but I think they are a great way to see the world. Yes, you don’t spend lots of time in any one place, but you get a chance to visit a variety of places and you only need to unpack once. And, as I am an over-packer, this is a bonus.

1. The first “stop” is in France to change planes.  We’ve all been there.
2. Copenhagen, Denmark (Cruise begins and ends here and we’ve added 3 days to the trip to visit this city.)
3. Tallinn, Estonia
4. St. Petersburg, Russia (get nearly 2 full days here)
5. Helsinki, Finland
6. Stockholm, Sweden
7. Germany – Rostock (Berlin) and Kiel (Hamburg)
8. Netherlands – changing planes in Amsterdam

Pic from HAL website

Pic from HAL website

Finally! I have lots of material for future blog posts and about 4 months before the trip begins.

A few years ago we had a wonderful 3-week family vacation that began in London, bounced to Paris, and ended in Barcelona. (We drove from Paris to Barcelona with many stops in between, such as Madrid and Bilbao.) This will be a great opportunity for all of us to visit other places in Europe. DH has been to Finland and Sweden before, but the rest of the cruise stops will be all new for all of us.

DH is half Finnish and half Dutch. Our first European trip with the kids was to Amsterdam. Now they get to visit Finland!

Bonus – DH remembers enough Finnish from his grandmother that he is attempting to teach us. Key word – attempting. I don’t learn new languages easily. I really just need to know how to ask for a toilet.

I am Norwegian, Swedish and German. I was in Norway a couple of years ago with my parents. Now I get to see the other countries where my ancestors came from.

And… this trip took the remainder of my Delta Skymiles to get the kids to Europe and back. We bought my ticket and DH’s ticket.

Let the research begin…..I need to dust off my “1000 places to see before you die” book and get started!

Tips anyone……

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in cruise, Delta, family, the book and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 Countries

  1. Never really fancied cruising so will be interested in what you have to say!

Leave a Reply

