The beauty of Maui

We arrived in Maui at around 8 pm on Saturday night. It was dark and we didn’t see much on the drive to Lahaina.
This was the first thing I saw Sunday morning coming out of our condo.

Hibiscus?

We are staying in Kulakane condos. I love it here and would return. The pool is small, but so far I have been the only person using it. We are so close to the water, and while it is quite rocky right in front of us I don’t need to go too far to the right or left to find great swimming.

I did lots of swimming on the first day. But as a pale white girl from Minnesota, I seriously underestimated the intensity of the sun and am a little red. Plus, I missed several sections of my body with the sunscreen. That won’t stop me though!

I need to rent an underwater camera. I did some snorkeling and saw lots of pretty little fish, and lots of sea urchins. Sea urchins are not pretty and I kept my distance.

I really prefer SCUBA diving to snorkeling because I just hate the tube getting filled with water. Seawater is not tasty.

After my afternoon nap, I was delighted to see a sea turtle hanging out in front of our condo. I love sea turtles! There is a large sign posted in our condo warning of the penalty for harassing sea turtles so I did keep my distance. He was not cooperative when I was trying to take photos. These two were the best I could do. One shows a bit of fin, and the other his rather large back at the surface of the water.

Sea turtle at surface

Sea turtle is camera shy

I did some exploring on the first day – found the local super markets and fast food joints, but since we have a kitchen in our condo we bought groceries instead of hitting the fast food joints. I can eat Taco Bell at home!

For dinner last night we made butter fish. It was tasty, but not as cheap as I would expect for local fish. I also sampled some local rum and it was tasty.

In addition to underestimating the sun and its effect on my skin, I also forgot how tiring it is to be outside more than inside. I went to bed early and slept great, until….

I do love the condo. It is two bedroom, two bath with a loft and great balcony. However, we have roosters nearby and they start crowing at around 4 a.m.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in 50 states, SCUBA, water and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

