Fall Football Weekends

I love Autumn! (I have a niece named Autumn that I love, but I am writing about the fall season here.)

It is my favorite time of the year. I like the cooler weather. I like the leaves changing colors (but don’t love raking them up after they fall). I like pulling out my sweaters and sweatshirts. And, I love college football! (I like NFL too, but that could be another post.)

I have season tickets to the Iowa Hawkeyes. That is my fave team, but I root for the Big Ten conference in general.

Iowa has an odd schedule this year – 4 back-to-back home games in September (I will miss the last weekend of the month), then one home game in October and two in November.  I have had to build the rest of my fall schedule around football – but that isn’t a complaint.

I live in Minnesota, so this also means road trips for each home game.  I find it very relaxing to drive through Iowa’s corn and soybean fields as I travel from Minnesota to Iowa City.  By the last game in November those fields should be cleared.

Hawkeye football at Kinnick stadium

I never attended the University of Iowa. So, of all of the people who didn’t go to school there – I am the biggest Hawkeye fan of that group! I am a Hawkeye by marriage. My husband graduated from there, and his father was a professor at Iowa.

I was hooked from the very first time I went to a game at Kinnick Stadium.  The energy and enthusiasm of Hawkeye fans is unlike anything I’ve experienced before and it is highly contagious! And they are generally good sports.

I tailgated this past weekend for the first time.  Financially speaking….it makes sense to eat outside of the stadium before or after the game. The food in most stadiums is expensive, and generally not very healthy. (But I do indulge in some junk food.) My menu last weekend wasn’t typical – not hot dogs or burgers, not beer and chips. I had white wine, quiche, cheese and crackers and a scone. Yummy!

My Hawkeyes won. It was a great day.

 

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

