My long-awaited return to Hawaii

This is a planning post. I am finally going back to Hawaii!

I was there 11 years ago for my combo wedding/honeymoon. My last trip was spent mostly on Kauai, with a couple of days on Oahu. I am now going to Maui!

Maui courtesy Google maps

I have a good idea of what I want to do:

SCUBA diving – this is first for a reason. I finished my certification in Hawaii 11 years ago and couldn’t imagine another trip to the islands without seeing the sealife.

Beach (with kindle and tropical drinks)

Hiking

Luau

Day trip to the Big Island to see lava

What I don’t know…..is where to stay. I always have a little anxiety when visiting somewhere for the first time because of the challenge of finding the right accommodations. But then I remind myself that I don’t have high standards. A decent bed is always nice to have, but I really need a good shower. I think I would like to be on the beach, but my Kauai hotel was and we never swam there because the surf was rougher than other places.

As always…. I am having a great time planning this trip. I leave in 55 days.  Aloha!

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in mountains, relaxation, SCUBA, water and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My long-awaited return to Hawaii

  1. Sharon says:

    It just so happens I was in Maui just a year ago! We stayed at the Aston Maui Lu which is just across the road from the beach and does, actually have a section of the hotel on the beach. It is a tad run down and very old fashion but it’s clean and inexpensive. Perfect for some one with low standards! They also have a luau on the premises. I recommend it.

    And – uh – I didn’t get my invitation to go with you…. Did it get lost in the mail?

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

