Breakfast with Oscar

On my last full day in Paris I decided to do something a little unusual……I had breakfast with Oscar Wilde.

Oscar Wilde’s grave

Visiting a cemetery, even this famous one, wasn’t really on any of my lists; but this trip to Paris was supposed to be about un-chartered territory; plus I had read that the cemetery was a romantic place to kiss. I don’t agree with that, but enjoyed my visit.

I started by going to the bakery near my hotel to buy some delicious pastries. Then got on the subway with my wine and pastries.

Finding his grave site was very easy. There was already a group of people there, so I waited until they moved on. I preferred to have a private breakfast.

Kisses for Oscar

The monument is surrounded by plexiglass; and that is covered with lip marks. Yes, I left mine too.

Oscar Wilde is one of my favorite playwrights. I have been a theater snob for many years now, and the Importance of Being Earnest was one of the first plays that I saw at my local theater – Guthrie.

(I have been to Shakespeare’s grave too – another great playwright – but that is another blog post.)

After eating my breakfast I set out to find Jim Morrison’s grave. Finding his was more difficult, but there was a small party going on when I arrived.  I was not the only person drinking at Jim’s grave!

Jim’s grave is surround by metal fencing so you can’t get very close, but close enough for people to throw items on the grave. There were lots of fresh flowers and cigarettes.  I left the rest of my wine for him.

One tip for the cemetery (along with the rest of Paris) plan your bathroom breaks! I only found one public bathroom in the cemetery but it was locked up.  Or drink less (wine, etc) when visiting the cemetery!

 

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breakfast with Oscar

  1. Pingback: 20 Year Love Affair with Paris | jewelsworldtravels

  2. Pingback: Daily Post: Muse | jewelsworldtravels

  3. Pingback: Paris for Beginners | jewelsworldtravels

Leave a Reply

