A crepe a day

I heard a story a few years ago about a guy who bet another guy that he couldn’t eat one quail every day for a month. It could be an urban legend. I wouldn’t attempt such a thing….the thought of it makes me want to hurl.

But I did attempt to eat one crepe per day when I was in Paris last month. Crepes are the original street food. Crepe stands are sprinkled all over Paris, and other cities and towns in France. You can get savory ones – ham and cheese, or sweet ones – nutella.

Crepes are usually cooked right in front of you, so they are hot and fresh. And they are pretty cheap.

Day 1 – I had a nutella and banana crepe as an afternoon snack. I actually would have preferred less nutella. I know that is a lame complaint, but sometimes less is more.

Day 2 – Another nutella and banana crepe, but from a different crepe stand. Very tasty and it did have less nutella so I wasn’t left with a face full of chocolate. But I don’t think the crepe was fresh this time because it wasn’t made in front of me and the edges were a little dry. I ate it anyway, but do not buy crepes near the Eiffel Tower.

Day 3 – Yes, nutella and banana again. I went back to the same crepe stand as day 1, but tried to ask for less nutella. It didn’t work. I had to work hard to keep chocolate from dripping on my clothes.

Day 4 – Butter, cinnamon and sugar. I thought it was time to try something new. I didn’t like this crepe. Way too much butter – it was dripping grease. And too much sugar – I don’t like sugar crunching in my teeth.

That was it for me. I didn’t bother getting crepes my last two days in Paris. I will buy one again….. some day, but I could not eat one crepe per day for 6 days. I am certain I could not eat a quail, or anything else, a day for a month.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A crepe a day

  1. This crepe a day business is a very good practice…I will try it!

Leave a Reply

