CNN article: Five things not to do on airplanes

Five things not to do on airplanes  This is a good list.

  1. No bare feet
  2. Don’t abuse the recline
  3. Don’t be an overhead hog
  4. No talking loudly to strangers
  5. Don’t make dumb jokes

My biggest pet peeve – #4. If I can hear you after I put in my ear plugs, then you are talking way too loudly.  I find loud airplane conversations more annoying than screaming children.  I don’t want to listen to your conversation. Really, I don’t! You are imposing your life on me, and others around us, in a way that is very invasive. I can’t remember the last time I was on a plane that wasn’t totally full…so I can’t get away from you.

I do not want to listen to your conversation with your seat mate!

I do not want to have more than a 2 minute conversation with my seat mate! We are not going to become best friends. We are never going to see each other again. One airplane trip brought us together, but that does not mean we need to share details of our life with each other, or even worse…discuss politics or any controversial subject.

My second pet peeve is #2. I really don’t want you sitting in my lap for the next several hours, but I know that lots of people think they are entitled to recline their seat.

Bare feet – gross! I did need to remove my shoes once and wasn’t wearing socks, but I won’t let that happen again.  (Twisted my ankle on a trip, and 12 hours in an airplane was not good for the swelling. I couldn’t get my shoes back on at the end of the flight….but was more comfortable after removing them.)

#5 should be a no-brainer. I think only novices would do something so stupid.

Thankfully I don’t need to fight for overhead space – at least not now because I have status with Delta – but I watch other people do it, and it can get ugly!

One of my other pet peeves is a child behind me kicking the seat.  I start with the passive-aggressive approach of staring at their parents.  I will ask nicely if it continues. And then I ask not-so-nicely if they still don’t stop.

This doesn’t bother me….but I know other people are bothered by passengers who bring stinky (this is subjective, of course) food on board with them to eat. This has become more of an issue now that most airlines don’t feed us anymore.   I only do this when pressed for time, and I try to choose unoffensive food like sandwiches.

What bothers you on airplanes or trains?

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in planes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CNN article: Five things not to do on airplanes

  1. Children used to bother me and then I became a granddad and the irritation just seemed to slide away.
    What annoys me most now is passengers who get on first and just sling their luggage into the overhead as though no one else is going to get on board and might need a bit of overhead locker space themselves – wankers!

Leave a Reply

