2012 “1000 Places to See Before You Die”

I have finally finished pouring over the newly updated “1000 Places to See Before You Die” book by Patricia Schultz, and I like the new version better. And, I now have the whole list in a spreadsheet and will happily share it with everyone else.

The updated book has 1,012 places instead of 1,043 – and this is after adding 20 countries.Amazing, huh? She accomplished this by consolidating major city attractions under the city where they are located. As an example, there is a single “book” entry for Paris instead of Paris being a place in addition to other places like Taillevent. Taillevent is listed as an excellent place to eat in Paris, but it is no longer its own entry/place. I agree with removing restaurants as a place to see before I die. The only restaurants I think that should be listed as one of the “1000 places” are the ones most people could afford to eat at. That wasn’t the case before. Great change!

Nearly all hotels are listed only under the city where they are located. Another great change. I never agreed with listing hotels as places. There are lots of beautiful hotels in the world, and I’ve visited a few of them; but I would never stay in any of them because they are very expensive. I would walk in…ooh and aah, and then leave. What’s the point?

My new stats – 100 of 1,012 places visited.

I will be visiting one new place next month….more coming soon on that.

I am glad I bought the new book, but I hope it isn’t updated too often. I also bought the kindle version so it can go everywhere with me. The printed version is quite large and I hated to bring it on vacation, but I would then get into situations where I knew what I was supposed to visit, but couldn’t remember why. Sometimes I don’t want to know the why, so I could go in and form my own opinion and look at a place without the influence of someone else’s description and opinion.

Go forth….and see the world!

Roatan, Honduras

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in the book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 “1000 Places to See Before You Die”

  1. Ben says:

    Hello,
    I am also an avid traveler and was thinking of creating a spreadsheet based on the 2nd edition of this book. The site mentions that you have such a spreadsheet so I was wondering if you might be willing to share it? If so, thank you so much!
    Best and happy travels!

Leave a Reply

