Costa Concordia and other disasters and tragic events

Costa Concordia

I was on a cruise when the Costa Concordia ran aground. They say information is power, but when you are on vacation I think certain information has the “power” to negatively impact your vacation.

Gone are the days when vacation is a blissful time when the rest of the world doesn’t exist.

Gone are the days when you wouldn’t hear about a plane crash when you are on a plane.

For the record, what happened to the Costa Concordia will not deter me from taking another cruise, but I have changed travel plans because of other events.

I narrowly missed three events last year:

  1. I was supposed to leave the US for Japan on March 14th – the earthquake and tsunami happened on March 11th. That event did cause me to change my plans.
  2. I was in Oslo, Norway the first weekend in July. The bombing and shootings happened on July 22nd. So glad I wasn’t there!
  3. The DC-area earthquake on August 23rd. I left a few days earlier. I know this wasn’t a disaster in terms of loss of life, and I actually do want to feel an earthquake sometime in my life.

Bad things happen all the time. What does it take for it to change our behavior? The tsunami in Indonesia and Hurricane Katrina obviously had a horrible impact on those areas, but there was a long-lasting impact too – on tourism. Just when places need tourism money, they can’t get it because people stop going for weeks, months or years.

I don’t think I take huge risks, and I don’t know the secret of life, or when/how mine will end….but I intend to keep living it.

 

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Costa Concordia and other disasters and tragic events

  1. Anonymous says:

    You are so right! I narrowly missed being on TWA flt 600 that crashed off the coast of NYC. Actually, I was on that exact plane two days before it crashed. It’s scary, but you keep going. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

