Anniversary cruise day 5 – Honduras

Roatan, Honduras

This is also what I refer to as “the best day ever!” And I really mean that. This cruise was what my parents wanted to do to celebrate their 50th anniversary with their children and grandchildren. They didn’t want a party, they wanted a nice family vacation. It was the first family vacation since they took us to Florida to see Mickey when I was in high school (early 80’s).

Now…when your parents are paying for a trip, you know that means there are strings attached. My mom had two “requests:”

1. We eat dinner together every night

2. We spend the day at the beach in Roatan, Honduras

Before I forget….Roatan is in the book. Check!

11 of 13 of us spent the day at a beach (can’t remember the name) and had more fun than I could have imaged. My parents were so happy!

We went to a beautiful private beach. It was worth the $10 per person admission. We had no problem finding 11 chairs together, even though we didn’t really use them because we stayed in the water most of the day. The water was clear, calm and warm. And….the waiters will bring your drinks in the water. Bonus!

Family swim time

My SIL got in the water for the first time ever….even though she had been to the ocean before.

There were many activities available….boats, jet skis, boards…but we all stayed together laughing, playing, swimming, and drinking rum drinks. (Only two negatives for the day…the constant stream of locals selling their wares, and my niece drinking too much and “losing her lunch” in a Pringles tube.)

My older brother and I were so taken by Roatan that we plan to return. It was our favorite port of the whole trip, and our favorite family day.

Roatan is beautiful. Jungles, every close to lovely beaches. The locals we met were very nice and hospitable.  I even saw a few Honduran doggies running around. I give two thumbs up to Roatan, Honduras!

Jill in Roatan

Nick and mom in Roatan

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in relaxation, the book, water and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

