Anniversary cruise day 4 – Belize

Dive boat

Belize and the second largest barrier reef in the world! (in the book) First time in Central America.

This was the part of the trip I was most excited about, and my expectations were exceeded. I love diving and don’t get many opportunities to partake. It had been five years since my last dive, so I went back for a refresher course. There were two dive excursions offered – one for people who had dived in the past year, and an intro course. I chose the intro course because I wanted a refresher, but more importantly because I introduced Andy and Jill to diving. They did great and enjoyed it so now I will pay for them to be fully certified.

But…I really need to make a point to dive more often. Diving, like so many other fun hobbies is very expensive. The equipment is expensive, but the really pricy part is traveling to tropical destinations.

Pink house on island off of Belize

Our dive master was awesome. Sadly…. I already forgot his name. He tried very hard to find interesting fish and critters for us to see. The best part….I touched a jellyfish and I liked it. (Cue Katy Perry music for “I kissed a girl…) On the top of the jellyfish, of course…..which is the safe part. It was firmer than I expected. It was a little bit like petting a wet, slippery ball.  I love the way jellyfish move. I could watch them for a long time. They are so graceful and  light on their non-existent feet.

No sharks, or other critters to be afraid of. I was amazed at the amount of purple mother nature has put in the sea. Lots of purple fish, but also lots of purple coral.  I need to invest in an underwater camera before my next dive! Sorry, no underwater pictures.

I like diving because I think it is the closest sensation to flying. I feel like I am flying in the water, and looking at the amazing underwater world at the same time. I find it very peaceful and surreal. I really wish everyone could experience this for themselves. I know there have been some great movies and videos shot underwater, but it really isn’t the same as when you are swimming and seeing it first hand.

I didn’t have time to do anything else in Belize, and never made it to Belize City. I think I will get back there some day, probably for a scuba trip with time to see other sights. The rest of my family went into Belize City, and some of them did a cave tubing excursion. Belize City is dirty and poor. It is unfortunate the rest of my family didn’t experience the beauty of Belize that I did.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in cruise, SCUBA, water and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

