Louisiana

New state! New state!

Bourbon Street, NOLA

I stepped foot in Louisiana for the first time on Saturday, January 7, 2012. I actually arrived in Mississippi first and then made the short drive to New Orleans. Airfare was super high into New Orleans that weekend and my dad was nice enough to drive the extra bit to pick me up in MS.

I dropped my stuff off at the hotel, tried to take a short nap…..but I was too excited to be there so I headed down to the French Quarter to meet up with my brother and his family. They drove down from Minnesota and arrived earlier that day.

This picture is what Bourbon Street and the French Quarter looks like on a Sunday morning. It is NOT what it looks like on a Saturday night – especially when there are two big football games in town. I met lots of crazy football fans that night.

The New Orleans Saints were playing a playoff game at home that night. Traffic was unbearable. They won though so the mood was very festive.

The BCS college football championship was on January 9 – one day after we left – but those fans were already in town. It was LSU (locals, sort of) and Alabama…. so perhaps there were more people than if one or both of the teams would have had farther to travel.  Roll Tide! (I temporarily became an Alabama fan because I often root for the underdog.)

In addition to hitting the French Quarter, which is in the book….I also can check New Orleans Restaurant Scene off my list as it was in the book too. I love seafood, and found lots of great seafood in New Orleans.

49 down….one state left.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in 50 states, food, the book and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

