Anniversary cruise day 1

 

Spirit cruise ship

Norwegian Cruise Line – Spirit. January 8, 2012 departure from New Orleans for the Caribbean.

It became quickly apparent that getting 13 people ready and moving at the same time was going to be difficult. But we all made it on the ship!

The first day started with a party! After dumping our stuff and checking out the cabins, and getting a little food; we all met by the pool for buckets of beers and tropical drinks in pretty plastic cups.

We had a family dinner that night, but it was frustrating we couldn’t all sit together. Their largest table is 12…we are a party of 13 so we basically ended up with a kids table and an adults table.  Every cabin had a bottle of wine as a gift from our travel agent (my awesome aunt), and we killed two bottles the first night.

I quickly realized I would need to pace myself in terms of alcohol consumption.

Rum party

Interesting note about leaving the New Orleans port….. we traveled first on the Mississippi to get to the Gulf of Mexico. I live in Minnesota – the state where the great Mississippi River begins…but I have spent very little time in my life on the river.  Now I have been at the beginning  and the end of the Mississippi River. Doing that wasn’t on any of my bucket lists, but I still think it was pretty cool.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in cruise, family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

