World’s top destinations for 2012

I found this article on cnn.com. You can read it here.

Here are their top nine destinations for 2012, and my opinion of each:

  1. England – yes, but probably not for the Olympics or the Queen’s diamond jubilee
  2. World of the Maya – yes sort of, but not to mark the end of their 5,126-year cycle
  3. Myanmar – no
  4. Chicago – probably (closest big city to where I live)
  5. St. Vincent and the Grenadines – no, I don’t even know where this is
  6. The Netherlands – possibly
  7. Atlantic Canada – no, but I am going to try to get to the Pacific Canada region – Vancouver
  8. Uruguay – not likely
  9. Orlando – hopefully

England is on my list every year. I just left a job where I traveled there for work 2-3 times per year. I hated to give up that travel, so I now need to get there on my own. I love the history and charm of England. London is a fabulous city. They sort of speak English, but use different words than we do in the US. Examples: a chip is a french fry and a pudding is usually a cake.

World of the Maya, while interesting, is not why I will be visiting this part of the world. I will be in Belize in two weeks, but will be SCUBA diving their beautiful reef….not looking at mayan ruins. I’ve seen mayan ruins and don’t plan to repeat the experience because there are too many other travel adventures on my bucket lists.

Myanmar has never been on my radar.  All I know about Burma is from the movie Anna and the King. Perhaps it will make its way onto my list, but not in 2012.

Chicago is a great city. I’ve been there lots of times, but not for a few years. I am over due to a visit to the windy city.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines is in the Caribbean. I learned some new geography! Not on my radar.

The Netherlands is one of my favorites too.  I would like to get back there, but it wasn’t on the 2012 bucket list. They have been in the news lately because they are going to ban tourists from visiting the coffee shops. Coffee shops don’t sell coffee. The CNN article doesn’t mention this, but I suspect the Netherlands will see an increase in tourism before the bans go into place. I don’t care. It won’t impact my decision to visit there now or in the future.

Atlantic Canada seems an odd one for any list, but it will be the 100 year anniversary of the sinking of Titanic. I’ve never been to Atlantic Canada and probably won’t get there any time soon. I would love to see Pacific Canada though, and I also need to get to Alaska to close out my 50 US states bucket list.

Uruguay is not what I think of when I dream of getting to South America. I really want to go to South America, but I typically think of Brazil, Peru or Chile. I have a chance to get to Brazil next year, but probably not Uruguay.

Orlando has Harry Potter now. I might be able to swing a quick weekend trip to Orlando next year.

I like these articles because they typically put places on my radar that I hadn’t really considered. I admit I am now more likely to research places like Myanmar and Uruguay than I was before reading the article.

My biggest limitation is the number of vacation days I have to travel. My second biggest is money. I might have to buy a lottery ticket tonight.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in London, Orlando and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

