Anniversary cruise countdown

11 more days until the 13 members of my family leave on NCL’s Spirit for a Caribbean cruise to celebrate my parents’ 50th anniversary.

I finally got around to making some plans. I ordered flowers and a party package for my parent’s cabin. I ordered the unlimited soda cups for the five “kids.” I’m sure most of them would rather drink adult beverages, but I am not paying for that!

There are 6 full days of the cruise. I’ve decided to plan three days and go-with-the-flow for the other three days. I wish I could “cruise by the seat of my pants” for the whole trip, but I just can’t.

My three planned days:

1. Catamaran ride and snorkeling in Costa Maya, Mexico

2. SCUBA diving in Belize (barrier reef – in the book)

3. Tequila tasting in Cozumel, Mexico

I am super excited about #2. I am a certified diver, but get very few chances to dive. Like most fun hobbies, diving is very expensive….starting with the fact that I need to travel to somewhere tropical. Diving in Minnesota sucks. Diving in Belize is supposed to be amazing!

As far as “the book” goes I hope to get to 3-4 new places. The cruise starts and ends in New Orleans, so I hope to get to 2 of the 4 places featured in the book. Also…new state – Louisiana; two new countries – Honduras and Belize.

I hope the family drama stays at home and doesn’t follow us on this wonderful vacation. I really want this to be the trip of a lifetime for my parents!

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in cruise, SCUBA, the book and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anniversary cruise countdown

  1. Sparky says:

    Well – it’s just not possible to over-plan tequila tasting! Please report back on whether or not you eat the worm.

    It sounds like you’re going to have a great time! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

Leave a Reply

