Anti-Christmas travel plans

Because I can’t always be traveling, I need to occasionally find inspiration from other sources for posts.

2011 will be the second Christmas in my entire life that I won’t be with my parents. Yes, I have spent nearly every Christmas with my parents. The first time was 6 or 7 years ago. I was so frustrated with my brothers over their lack of commitment to spend holidays with our family that I boycotted Christmas and went to Cancun. It was a good trip, but it is unlikely that I will ever do that again.

I am not spending Christmas with my parents this year because I am meeting them two weeks later in New Orleans for a cruise to celebrate their 50th anniversary. And, they don’t want to make two trips in three weeks. I think it is still possible they will change their mind. If I didn’t think it was possible they might show up expecting Christmas, I would consider leaving town. This is how I would rank the destinations featured in the article.

1. Las Vegas

2. Jewish New York

3. Spiritual exploration in India

4. Thai elephant ride

I would love to ride an elephant in Thailand, but not for Christmas. Volunteering to help others is really the best option – especially if traveling isn’t an option.

I didn’t fantasize long about escaping Minnesota this Christmas. Even though my parents won’t be here, my step-kids will be. I know the day will come when the kids will have their own lives that may not involve spending Christmas with me. Or, because they have divorced parents they could end up in the situation where they have 3-4 families to visit every holiday. (The Four Christmases movie was kinda funny and kinda sad.)

I guess I won’t really know how I would feel wandering NY on Christmas, or gambling in Vegas, instead of overeating at home until I experience it.  But I do know that I probably won’t pick any of the places in that article. For many years I have wanted to spend Christmas in Paris. Joyeaux Noel!!

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in family, France, Las Vegas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anti-Christmas travel plans

  1. jakesprinter says:

    I Love your story 🙂

Leave a Reply

