Dumbest souvenir ever

Squishy pig

I saw these all over Rome. Non-Italians selling cheap crap made in China.  Don’t pause for a second to watch the sellers throw the squishy pig or they will immediately start bargaining with you.

 
All over Paris you can buy cheap, metal Eifel Towers – in varying sizes from 1-2 inches to a foot tall. Again, probably made in China; but at least there is some connection with the city. I’ve never bought an Eifel Tower souvenir in Paris.
 
However, I did buy the pig. Blame it on being sick, or some other weak moment.  I don’t know why these pigs were being sold all over Rome. I don’t see any connection.
 
The pig squished flat when you threw it against certain surfaces; but then it quickly regains the original shape.  My pig lasted about 10 minutes before it started leaking. The cats finished it off the next day.
 
Maybe I need to go back to Rome and buy some more useful, and meaningful, like a Madonna and child statue.
About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

