Roman cathedrals

Bee stained glass window from basilica

I think I’ve written this before – Europe has lots of castles and cathedrals.

Roma, however, has lots and lots of Roman Catholic churches. Here is a list of some I visited:

 

 

 

S. Maria del Popolo

Pantheon

S. Maria de la Vittoria

S. Maria sopra Minerva

S. Agnes de Agony (mass was going on at the time so I just peeked in)

S. Andrea al Quirinale (wedding was going on at the time so I just peeked in)

S. Maria in Trivio Trinita dei Monti (top of Spanish steps)

Basilica di San Pietro in Vincoli (St Peter in chains)

Basilica di Santa Maria in Trastevere

Basilica di S. Maria in Cosmedin

Basilica S. Maria in Aracoeli in Campidoglio (100 steps up the front, 57 down the back) One of my faves. The bee stained glass window is from here.

2 things I learned:

1. In Pompeii I learned that the word basilica was originally a business center. Christians adopted it later for their churches. 

2. A chapel in a Roman church is different from a chapel in an American church. A chapel in a Roman church is an alcove off of the main church, typically owned by wealthy families, and is where they are buried. Some chapels are used as smaller places of worship, but they are mainly where people are interred.

Chapel

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in cathedrals, Italy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

