Homeless man

The title I really wanted to use was “Homeless man urinates in public in Rome,” but decided it was too long.

No, this is not the title of a magnificent work of art. It was an event I witnessed on the steps of a church. You’ve heard the expression about not being able to look away from a train wreck? This was a similar experience.

I was in Piazza dell Oro and needed a rest. The man was sitting on the steps of the church when I arrived. I sat about ten yards away – not too close or too far. I was hoping he wouldn’t ask me for money.

I assumed he was homeless because he was very dirty. No shoes, black feet and gross hair. No pictures of him or the event though so you need to take my word for it. 🙂

He had a small box of wine, and after a few minutes laid down on the step. I assumed he was going to sleep. Not a nap! He pulled his pants down, pulled it out and peed down the stairs. He put it back in, fixed his clothes, stood up and walked away.

I am shocked at the things that shock me. This shocked me! I looked around to see if anyone else saw what I saw and there was a man sitting behind me who made a strange face.  I think he saw it too.

The homeless man did not ask me for money.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in cathedrals, Italy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

