Pompeii

Streets of Pompeii

I’ve been fascinated with Pompeii and volcanoes for as long as I can remember. The story of this town intrigued me, but what I just learned is that the residents did have advanced warning to evacuate before their town was destroyed in AD 79.

They are still doing excavations, and lots of artifacts  have been recovered and are in amazing condition. They’ve even been able to make molds of where they found bodies! That is a little creepy, but interesting. In some cases, you can see the facial expression left behind as the person died and was buried under the ash. You can read the full history here.

I really didn’t have enough time to see everything. I think I ran through about 1/3 of what is available to the public. There are lots more pictures here.

Pompeii

Pompeii artifacts

Being in Pompeii was an amazing experience. They have reconstructed some of the public baths, but there are many rooms and parts of buildings that survived…in varying conditions.

I didn’t hire a guide because I knew I couldn’t be there very long. I would like to return for an entire day, and would hire a guide. They are readily available and extremely knowledgeable. I did listen in to some of them when I was walking around on my own and was able to pick up some tidbits that I didn’t know.

Pompeii is in the book. Mt Vesuvius isn’t, but I would add that to a future trip if I am lucky enough to return to this region of Italy.  Go to Pompeii if possible!

Pompeii fresco

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in Italy, mountains, the book. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pompeii

  1. Pingback: 20 Must-See Places Before The World Ends « jewelsworldtravels

Leave a Reply

