Sicily on fire

Sicily

I drove from Palermo, in the northwest corner, around the western coast of Sicily to Agrigento; and then back to Palermo through the country. Sicily is beautiful. Parts of it have beautiful sea views, and there are gorgeous mountains too. Sadly, I didn’t make it to the east side where Mt Etna is. (I have a strange fascination with volcanos, but that will be a separate post.)

I found something very interesting when I was driving through the island – fires. Lots of fires, smoke and burned sections of countryside. They were small, controlled fires. Sometimes it looks like stripes of burned area next to non-burned area. Why?

I tried Google to find an answer on why they set these small fires. The first hit I got was an article called “Aliens caused Sicily fires, say officials.” Huh? I assume there is some agricultural reason for the fires, but maybe it was aliens.

Fire next to the highwayBurn "stripes"

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in Italy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

