Galileo’s finger

I saw his finger, thumb and a tooth. They are on display at the Museo di Stora Bella Scienza, along with some of his work. Background and history on Galileo available here.

I don’t usually like science museums, but this one was worth visiting. There are really old (16th – 18th century) objects such as thermometers, globes of the earth and sky, and machines for making electricity. Most of these were not replicas, but really well-preserved works of art. Yes, I consider many of them to be works of art because the materials used were beautiful – wood, brass, glass etc.

Sorry, picture taking was forbidden. Plus, do you really want to see a picture of a dead man’s finger?

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in art, Italy, museum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

