Day 1 of cruise – Livorno / Firenze

Livorno is the port town. It is considered the gateway to Tuscany. I didn’t really see anything like in the “Under the Tuscan Sun” movie.

Firenze is Italian for Florence. My half-day there was ok. I missed lots because it was a Monday and some museums were closed. Also, each way from the port to Florence was 90 minutes +. Lots of time spent in trains. (BTW – trains in Italy are much, much cheaper than trains in England.)

I walked Ponte Vecchio – a medieval bridge full of jewelry stores. Nice stuff, but I wasn’t shopping for bling.

Pont Vecchio

I saw a replica of Michelangelo’s famous David statue.

And I went to a science museum to see a dean man’s finger. (Separate blog post about that coming next.)

Florence was hot and full of annoying, slow-moving tourists. I am not desperate to go back there. It could be nice though with fewer people and less sun.

Michaelangelo’s David (replica)

All other photos from Florence are here.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in art, cruise, Italy, train. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

