If you can’t count

Maybe you should stay home…not travel…or go back to school and learn how to count. I know this is harsh, but I am amazed by how many inexperienced travels can’t find their seat on an airplane. This really shouldn’t be difficult. Not rocket science! The airlines are not trying to confuse us. The first row on an airplane is conveniently labeled as row #1….and they go up from there. I know counting backwards can be confusing for some, but we should all be able to count from 1.

I watched a family of 4….yes four of them… walk past me last night. I was in row 10. They walked nearly to the back of the plane and then turned around to walk back to row 5. Really? Did you actually believe row 5 was in the back of the plane? Or did you all need to use the restroom first? Or did none of you check your boarding card? Did you want to sit in the back of the plane? (I’m sure someone would switch with you for the coveted bulk heads seats.)

And, if you can’t count, can you at least match numbers? The row numbers are listed on both sides of the plane.  

I’ve noticed people on many occasions who seemed to be really confused and struggling to find their seats. The first point of confusion is which row. The second is which seat in that row. Is A the window seat or the aisle? Again, if you look you will find a guide above the seat.

Maybe Southwest Airlines has the right idea about not giving seat assignments. Perhaps this makes it so much easier for their passengers that they can load their planes faster.  

I live in Minnesota where Southwest is not a great option. I will continue to fly Delta and make fun of seemingly stupid people who can’t find their seats. Thanks for the laugh!

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in planes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

