Traveling with pets

Sushi's seat in the mini van

My inspiration for this post comes from a USA Today article – A tour of the USA’s Top 10 pet-friendly hotels.

My dog loves to ride in the car. Loves it! The cats….not so much. I’ve taken the dog on several long car trips. She does well in the car, and in hotels. The first time I stayed in a hotel with her was in Memphis. The first couple of nights weren’t great as she was on high alert and would bark whenever someone walked past our door. She eventually stopped that.

Sometimes I wish I could take Sushi with me everywhere. I love to travel, but I always miss my pets. But, she has never been on a plane. I should have tried it when she was young, but really I think I will be more stressed than her.

My dog hates water, but really likes being on the boat.  I wish I could bring my kitty on my upcoming cruise.

Sushi on the boat

The longest car ride I’ve taken with the cats is 12 hours. This is about 11 hours and 50 minutes too long. They don’t enjoy it. I don’t enjoy it. The only time the cats go in the car is to go to the vet, and to my MIL’s house in Canada. The vet is a 10 minute ride, and the house in Canada is 12  hours. They love the house in Canada, but the journey is stressful. There are 4 windows in the Canadian house that they can actually lay in. 4 cats – 4 windows. I almost brought a cat on the plane with me once, but I changed my mind at the last minute. Again, too stressful for ME.

I do wish more places welcomed pets, but I understand why they don’t. Not everyone likes cats or dogs, I know there is an allergy issue for some, and some pets are just not well-behaved enough to be in public.

Sushi likes the drive-up window at fast food restaurants

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in boat, car, Pets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

