Skirts

This isn’t a post about women’s clothing. In fact, the title is misleading because I am really writing about kilts. There is a man in my office in St. Paul, Minnesota (USA) who wears a kilt. It was a bit startling at first, but I suppose I am getting used to it now. I can’t help but think of the first time I saw a man wearing a skirt, um I mean a kilt…..

I was a young college girl traveling abroad for the first time. It was a university-sponsored trip to England, but a group of us got together one weekend and drove to Scotland. We arrived in Edinburgh just before lunch on a Saturday. We didn’t realize there was a big football (soccer) match that weekend. I was very surprised to see lots of drunk men – at noon on a Saturday – wearing skirts.  Some of them seemed quite happy to show us what they were, or weren’t wearing under the kilt, but I was much too shy and naive to take advantage of that opportunity.

I always assumed kilts were worn on special occasions. Maybe that isn’t true, or my colleague thinks coming to work is a special occasion.

I like wearing skirts. I like to think I am an open-minded person, but it just looks so wrong to see a man in a kilt/skirt. Can’t he wear cargo shorts like the other men?

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in culture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skirts

  1. Ariel Price says:

    My family is from Scotland and I think kilts are hilarious. Scottish men are particularly proud of their kilts. I, too, visited Scotland in the middle of December – dead winter! – and my tour guide wore a kilt every night to dinner. Apparently they’re quite comfortable.

    What are even more funny than normal kilts are these: Utilikilts! http://www.utilikilts.com/customer/photo-gallery/
    Literally, kilts made out of denim and for all sorts of recreational activities. Where do they come up with it?

Leave a Reply

