Hotels

World’s 15 most expensive hotel suites

I read this article mostly with amusement. It opens with this sentence:

“Money’s worth nothing, until you spend it.”

I don’t disagree, but I try to spend as little of my travel budget on lodging as possible. My first priority for a hotel isn’t location, amenties, or even the bed….although the older I get the more important a comfortable bed is becoming.

My deal-breaker when it comes to hotels is the shower. Some people describe themselves as horrible in the morning until they’ve had their coffee. For me it is the shower. Don’t speak to me, or even look at me until I’ve had a shower.

I will give good ratings to a hotel if they have a good breakfast too. I do believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, especially when traveling.

A few of the hotels in that article do mention shower and/or bath facilities. Typically you don’t know what you are dealing with until you get to the hotel though. Is there hot water? Is there any water pressure? Is the shower head above you, or below you? Do you get a full-sized towel? Can you see through the towel? I would bring my own towel with me everywhere if it didn’t take up so much space in my suitcase!

As it relates to “the book,” there are many hotels listed. I’ve visited some of them. This is how that visit goes…I walk in the hotel and try my best to look like I belong. (They typically have a well-dressed doorman.) I wander the lobby and other public places – usually with awe. I might look at the menu of the restaurant. I will try and use the bathroom. And then I leave.

I think the most expensive hotel I’ve stayed in was the Halekulani. It was a honeymoon thing so I probably won’t stay there again.

When it comes to travel I prefer quantity over quality. I need a decent, not fancy, place to sleep and a good shower. I not picky beyond that.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in hotels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

