World’s 12 worst tourist traps

I didn’t make this up. It is from an article I found online.

World’s 12 worst tourist traps

1. Dunn’s River Falls, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
2. Avenue of Stars, Hong Kong
3. Times Square, New York City, US
4. Nanjing Dong Lu, Shanghai, China
5. Winston Churchill’s Britain at War Experience, London, UK
6. Damnoen Saduak Floating Market, Bangkok, Thailand
7. All of central Tokyo, Japan
8. Leaning Tower of Pisa, Italy
9. Bandra’s Bollywood homes, Mumbai, India
10. Sydney Fish Market, Sydney, Australia
11. Patpong, Bangkok, Thailand
12. Benoa, Bali, Indonesia

#3 Times Square – I agree! I didn’t love it, in part because I don’t like crowds. But parts of Tokyo are just like this. And so is Picadilly Square in London. Lots of people hanging out, for no apparent reason.

#7 All of central Tokyo – I am torn on this one. I didn’t think it was a tourist trap, but I’m glad I didn’t spend any more time there than I actually did. Tokyo has Ginza and harajuku girls; but it also has quiet, serene parks and temples. I highly recommend Tokyo, but I think a few days is enough and then move on to other places in Japan. It is a relatively small country, and easy to get around thanks to high-speed trains.

#8 Leaning Tower of Pisa – haven’t been there, but it is a place I am considering visiting next month. I didn’t consider going there when I began planning this trip because I knew it was a tourist trap. I’ve seen lots of pictures and don’t believe seeing it in person will be that memorable. But sometimes visiting a well-known place can be beneficial later in life when you are at a cocktail party and need to make small talk with strangers. I suck at small talk, so I really need all the help I can get. So….I will probably go and see the tower lean in Pisa, Italy. Plus, I’m sure there will be lots of places nearby that sell amazing gelato!

Someone should do a similar list, but focused only on the US. I vote to add Wall Drug, Wall, South Dakota to a list of the worst tourist traps. If I recall, you are pretty much forced to drive through Wall on the way to Mount Rushmore when coming from the East.

About jewelsworldtravels

I want to see the world! I am armed with the book "1,000 places to see before you die" and I am having a great time. I am also a dog lover and theatre snob.
This entry was posted in 50 states, Italy, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to World’s 12 worst tourist traps

  1. tokyo5 says:

    >All of central Tokyo, Japan (is a tourist trap)

    Wow! I don’t agree with that!
    I was surprised the post it came from was on a major news organization’s blog!

  2. Thank you for the reminder! I really hope to return to Japan in 2014.

Leave a Reply

